Art, food

Food LoVe

Mac and Cheese Pasta bruschetta parmesan cheese chicken snitchel spaetzle Taco tortilla Tofu Avocado tomatoes    Crab CakeOssobuco Pasta lemon tilapia Chocolate Mousse   Lamb bolognese    tilapia sweet potato puree  SAMSUNG

Hi Guys and Dolls!

Let’s talk about food, food, food!!!

I have a passion for it, and I’m confidently positive you do to!

Food is such an amazing adventure, I love how creative you can be with it. (Note my creations pictured above!) It’s OK to lick your screens,you know you want to. 😉

Like painting you start with a blank canvas, the ingredients your paint brush, each ingredient a brush stroke and when finished can create a masterpiece….

Cooking is an art, and if you tell me otherwise we may have to duke it out!

It’s an art with danger built into it, your tools are sharp knives and fire!

If  you’re not careful, you can burn your house down, and I almost found that out the hard way.

I don’t remember what I was cooking, needless to say I started a kitchen fire!

Yup folks that’s what happens when oil is burned at astronomically high temperatures.

Thank goodness for me, my Viking husband was home, he is an Eagle Scout and as you know they are always prepared.

He heard my screams for help and came running out of the shower, buck naked, and put the fire out. FYI do not poor water on a grease fire, it makes bigger fire!!!

I did get a 2nd degree burn and lost an eyebrow. Those my friends are battle scars.

See I told you it was an adventure, we are essentially warriors and the kitchen is our battlefield.

I did not always know how to cook, I use to burn everything. You name it, I probably burned it.

Rice was my arch nemesis (and I’m Asian!), FYI getting burnt rice out of pans is not such an easy task, especially because your’s truly burned it to the point where it became a black tar. Yup that happens.

I have since learned that rice should be cooked in a rice cooker, although I’ve learned to use a regular pan in a pinch.

One night, at the beginning of my marriage, my hubby and I decided to have one of those confession conversations. We decided to share everything we didn’t know about each other.

I’m a firm believer that keeping secrets in a marriage is kryptonite. Secrets have a way of sneaking up on you, they always come out to play whether you want them to or not.

If you’re going to share an eternity with someone, I think you should now everything about them.

Anyways so I went first. I told him all my crazy, deep secrets, yeah I had quite a few.

When it was his turn, he only had one, it was that my biscuits and gravy apparently sucked.

He was like “remember when you made me biscuits and gravy?” I said yeah, “well it was the most disgusting thing I ever ate, please never make it again!”

I started laughing, I said is that it?? That’s your big secret?? He said, with a big grin “yes honey that’s all I got”. (Wowzer!)

I asked him why he felt the need to keep that from me and why he just didn’t tell me right away.

His reply “you were 8 months pregnant and I didn’t want to die.” He is a wise man….

After that I decided to learn to cook and I started watching the Cooking Channel everyday.

I fell in love with cooking, and food and I have had a love affair ever since.

I love cooking food from every culture, I think it is important to absorb each other’s cultures.

Food has the amazing ability to bring people together. My husband and I spend at least 12 hours a week cooking together and I think it helps our relationship (being near fire and knives helps keep us civil).

I bet many of the worlds problems could be solved by locking world leaders in a kitchen and forcing them to cook and eat together.

Amazing food is magic, and should always be shared!

What are your favorite foods? Comment below and let me know… Maybe I’ll make it for dinner!

XOXO!

Standard

Leave a Reply

